Body Love Event Live Bonus Episode

To celebrate the end of Mental Health Awareness Week, on Saturday 18th May we hosted a very special day of workshops, talks, a live podcast and a nude photoshoot experience for mums in our very first Body Cons “Body Love” event.

It was an empowering, inspiring and uplifting day, with tears, laughter and some beautiful images captured by the incredible photographer Eve Hazelton.

We wanted to celebrate the female form and the bodies of mums, through the female gaze, in private one-to-one photo sessions for ten mothers. But we wanted to turn the experience into a real event, so each ticket holder was invited to bring one guest with them.

All profits from the day are being donated to The Mental Health Foundation to support their important work and as a thank you for making the focus of this year’s Mental Health Awareness Week be about body image.

The whole day was captured by our amazing videographer Amy Upchurch – @Amyupchurchfilms – as soon as the video’s ready we’ll share it here and on all our social channels! Like all the people who worked with us on the day, Amy donated her time and expertise for free and we couldn’t be more grateful.

The event was held in the beautiful The Forge in Bristol, donated to us for free for the day. It was a stunning venue and the perfect location for our first ever event. Huge thank you to The Forge Bristol for letting us use the space. –
https://www.theforgebristol.com/

Our speakers on the day:

In conversation with body image researcher, Nadia Craddock, from the Centre for Appearance Research at UWE in Bristol – @nadia.craddock

A live podcast recording on bodies after babies with Dinah Gibbons – @dinah.gibbons – from Body Kind Festival –
https://www.bodykindfestival.com/

A body image workshop with Lisa Beasley – @lisamybodypositive – from My Body Positive –
https://www.mybodypositive.co.uk/

An interactive session on self-doubt and body image – Come Home To Your Body, with self-doubt researcher and life coach Sas Petherick – @saspetherick – Sas also hosts her own brilliant podcast called Courage and Spice –
http://courageandspice.com/episodes/

A meditation and acupressure session with Gemma David from The Quiet Heart – @thequietheart
http://quietheart.co.uk/

Thank you to these brands for supporting our event:

We had some beautiful products donated to our goodie bags. Huge thank you to:

In the Moment Magazine – https://www.calmmoment.com/ | Green People UK – https://www.greenpeople.co.uk | Magic Organic Apothecary – https://moa.co.uk/ | Honest Weaves –
https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/honestweaves | Niki Groom –
https://www.missmagpiefashionspy.com/ | Mapology Guides –
https://www.mapologyguides.com/ and iVYVERDURE –
https://ivyverdure.com/

Thanks also to Ceder’s Alt Gin for providing our event drinks –
https://ceders-alt-gin.com/

GET IN TOUCH:

Email: bodyconspodcast@gmail.com |Tweet: @bodyconspodcast | Instagram: @bodyconspodcast

GOING UP / DOWN:

Sylvia Flote in the Sunday Times on brands using pregnant models –
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/are-you-expecting-or-could-it-be-foam-and-silicone-vlw0jp26r | Duvet Days Instagram account – @duvet_days

YOUR HOSTS:

Molly Forbes: @mollyjforbes | Lottie Storey: @lottie_storey

PRODUCTION CREDITS:

Artwork by Hannah Broadway @hannahkbroadway

Music: Teeth White by The Staves, used under license from Warner Music (PRS & PPL)

Sound FX: Epidemic Sound

Produced by Molly Forbes

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *